Cath Gilmour, Catalyst Co-Chair
Cath was a journalist for three decades, in newspapers throughout New Zealand and as a freelance feature writer for various publications both here and overseas. She spent a season as the New Zealand Antarctic Programme journalist and four years as the Department of Conservation’s first journalist/interpreter, in Christchurch. She was a Queenstown Lakes District Council Councillor for three terms, holding the strategic planning and development portfolio. She is also a trustee for Central Lakes Trust and Wakatipu Youth Trust.

AJ Mason, Catalyst Co-Chair
AJ is a technology strategist with experience fostering international and scientific linkages, in particular between New Zealand and the United States. In addition to agency work for a variety of international clients (primarily US, EU, and NZ) he has worked with the US State Department, the White House, New Zealand Parliament, and New Zealand Trade and Enterprise.

Sarah Jones, Catalyst Secretary
Sarah is a writer. She combines the best in analytical thinking with specialist knowledge from years working in the education and publishing sectors. Sarah is chair of the Board of Trustees at Shotover Primary School and is a founding member of a group initiated to support an innovative multi-disciplinary science project where the school’s children and community restore the local wetland.

Jane Shearer, Catalyst Treasurer
Jane is a consultant with 25 years of experience in research and development projects, particularly in relation to structuring projects, writing business cases and accessing funding. She has also been a Trustee for the Canterbury-Westland based Brian Mason Science Trust Fund for the last 14 years and now manages the administration of that Fund. Jane has been a bridge between research and industry for many years, translating between the two types of organisation.

Tim Buckley
Brand Consultant, Graphic Designer, Publisher and Creative. Owner and founder of Fluid Visual Communications, a dedicated design and brand management agency based in Queenstown. Tim is also co-owner and publisher of The Source Magazine, and the Front Room Gallery. Tim has a strong focus on community engagement and was one of the founding members of the Queenstown Coastguard unit. He is also a member of the newly-formed Routeburn Dart Wildlife Trust.

Peta Carey
With a thirty year career in television documentary, current affairs and feature writing, Peta Carey has worked on films and print stories around the globe, most notably in East Africa, the South Pacific, Russia’s Caucasus region and not least Aotearoa, New Zealand. She has received several international documentary awards and a NZ Peace Media Award for print journalism.

Blair Fitzharris
Blair is a climatologist and Emeritus Professor of Geography at the University of Otago. He is also a consultant with 35 years of experience on climate matters related to resource development, mining, land use, energy (including hydro and wind power), topoclimate and mapping. Blair is a past member of Antarctica New Zealand’s Research Committee and of the Royal Society of NZ Standing Committee on Climate Change, former President of the Meteorological Society of NZ and former Chair of the NZ Mountain Safety Council.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *